chadsimpkins

everyday is gameday…

  • twitter posts

    • Every time a video ad plays before I can watch a video or look at an article online, an angel loses its wings. 3 weeks ago
    • Watched the 30 For 30 special last night about Year of the Scab. I know the Skins won it all in 91 too, but could... fb.me/1fJmaNHB3 1 month ago
    • We finished our Summer Lunch Bunch program today. Here are the results from the summer... Also, I can't thank... fb.me/Fll8zUT4 1 month ago
    • I am looking for about 10-12 people who can help do a couple of things for our summer lunch program this weekend.... fb.me/aCFluPEuH 3 months ago
    • Today, we got approval at two of our 3 lunch sites to put in picnic tables (there are none there for kids to sit... fb.me/TfU0haon 3 months ago
  • My Musings…

  • Follow Me...

    • facebook
    • twitter
  • Stuff I Like...

    • Chipotle
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • Wake Forest Sports

Varsity update

Posted by slykwyk on April 12, 2010

I figured this past week that it would be good to begin to share weekly what we are up to and how things are going here in Chapel Hill.  This will help keep everyone updated.  So here is where we are up to now…

Varsity Church

Well, we got ourselves a name AND became incorporated as a church here in North Carolina!  Glad to get those two things out of the way.  As I have said before, choosing the name was the hardest part so far!

Community Connection

Savana decided to play baseball this spring and I figured it was a great chance to connect in the community so I am coaching her team.  Our first practice was this week and we had a great time!  Looking forward to enjoying the next few weeks with these players.

Community Impact

If you read my previous post, you know we are moving forward on our Community Needs Assessment.  I had my first meeting with a nurse and social worker from one of the local middle schools.  They passed along some GREAT information and also some GREAT people to connect with later on.  I already have 4 of those on the books for upcoming weeks.

Fundraising

The majority of my time up to Easter was spent fundraising.  I have a LOT more to do.  It’s not the best time to be trying to raise funds, but I believe in our project, this community and what we are doing here that I know God will provide!

Processes/Papers

Staff handbook, values, beliefs, web sites, craigslist, volunteer roles – I have spent a lot of time writing documents, thinking about our DNA and looking for staff.  There is a lot to do when you plant a church!

The best part is we are having fun, enjoying our time here, and looking forward to our future here in Chapel Hill!

Leave a Reply

 
