chadsimpkins

everyday is gameday…

  • twitter posts

    • Every time a video ad plays before I can watch a video or look at an article online, an angel loses its wings. 3 weeks ago
    • Watched the 30 For 30 special last night about Year of the Scab. I know the Skins won it all in 91 too, but could... fb.me/1fJmaNHB3 1 month ago
    • We finished our Summer Lunch Bunch program today. Here are the results from the summer... Also, I can't thank... fb.me/Fll8zUT4 1 month ago
    • I am looking for about 10-12 people who can help do a couple of things for our summer lunch program this weekend.... fb.me/aCFluPEuH 3 months ago
    • Today, we got approval at two of our 3 lunch sites to put in picnic tables (there are none there for kids to sit... fb.me/TfU0haon 3 months ago
  • My Musings…

  • Follow Me...

    • facebook
    • twitter
  • Stuff I Like...

    • Chipotle
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • Wake Forest Sports

WOW! Good choice!

Posted by slykwyk on April 9, 2010

Our family moved to Chapel Hill knowing inside that there would be needs in the community.  No community is perfect.  However, a lot of our knowledge came from online research, not personal conversations.  Yesterday I was able to meet with one of the local schools which helped bring to life that there are needs in this community, needs that we take for granted.  Some of the ‘lowlights’ if you will…

Books

This one floored me!  One of the needs in the community are books for students to read at home.  One of the wonderful ladies I met with yesterday said that the amount of books you find in a house correlates with the educational level of kids in the house.  Makes sense.  In under-resourced homes, the educational system used is TV watching not book reading.  Time to get some books!

Single Moms

This one wasn’t unexpected as it seems to be the norm today, but for lack of a better term – it pisses me off.  Dudes get a girl/lady pregnant and move on leaving the mom to work, lead and take care of the kids.  Once again, moms are left to fend for themselves.

Mentoring

I have heard this many times in the past at other schools that the absence of mentoring is an issue.  Especially the absence of men helping in this area.  I guess I am bothered more that we have to go to mentoring because parents aren’t either able or willing to lead in this area.

Here we are in one of the most educated and well-off communities in North Carolina and yet the gap between the haves and have nots is wide.  I believe that is a physical and spiritual issue we hope we can begin to make a dent in here in Chapel Hill.

Seems like Chapel Hill is a good place for a new church to make an impact!

One Response to “WOW! Good choice!”

  1. culturalawakening said

    Sounds like it. Sounds like you’re off on the right track my brutha. The single mom thing pisses me off too. I’m right there with you. I’m praying for you guys.

Leave a Reply

 
