chadsimpkins

everyday is gameday…

  • twitter posts

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • My Musings…

  • Follow Me...

    • facebook
    • twitter
  • Stuff I Like...

    • Chipotle
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • Wake Forest Sports

and the winner is…

Posted by slykwyk on March 18, 2010

So, I mentioned a couple weeks ago that I was really struggling with a name for this new church.  I shared some of the names I had

floating around in my head (they didn’t have far to travel) to a group of people and received some great feedback.  I prayed about the name.  Seriously, I have been praying about it.  Naming a church, business, non-profit, your kids, even your stinking dog, you want it to fit and connect.  Well, the time has come to ANNOUNCE the winner.

Before I tell you what it is, here are some things I had to consider…

  • How does the name fit the culture we are in?
  • Is the name too trendy or am I trying hard to be ‘cool’?
  • Is the name too traditional?  Does it just blend into the background?
  • Does it roll off the tongue?  Or is it easy to say?
  • Does it speak to the DNA of the church I feel God is giving us the vision for?
  • And what are the possibilities BEYOND this church?  Does the name allow us to venture into other places as we begin to plant other churches and possibly campuses?

The list could go on, but know that everything listed about (and more) played into the naming of this church.

So are you ready?  Are you excited?  Here you go…

One more thing, I did think about giving naming rights out for the highest bidder.  I mean, come on, I need to finance this church!  (I am kidding – sort of…)

(ok, I enjoy the suspense so I am going to post it at 2 pm or whatever 2 pm is on WordPress)

Leave a Reply

 
