chadsimpkins

everyday is gameday…

  • twitter posts

    • Every time a video ad plays before I can watch a video or look at an article online, an angel loses its wings. 3 weeks ago
    • Watched the 30 For 30 special last night about Year of the Scab. I know the Skins won it all in 91 too, but could... fb.me/1fJmaNHB3 1 month ago
    • We finished our Summer Lunch Bunch program today. Here are the results from the summer... Also, I can't thank... fb.me/Fll8zUT4 1 month ago
    • I am looking for about 10-12 people who can help do a couple of things for our summer lunch program this weekend.... fb.me/aCFluPEuH 3 months ago
    • Today, we got approval at two of our 3 lunch sites to put in picnic tables (there are none there for kids to sit... fb.me/TfU0haon 3 months ago
  • My Musings…

  • Follow Me...

    • facebook
    • twitter
  • Stuff I Like...

    • Chipotle
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • Wake Forest Sports

yesterday

Posted by slykwyk on December 31, 2009

Yesterday, Kara and I headed down to Chapel Hill to check out some housing for our upcoming move.  We looked at 3 places and think we have found a place to live (I am STILL looking although Kara is ready to jump).  As one lady put it, “They aren’t making any new land in Chapel Hill.”  Rentals are a wee bit expensive (yes, even more so than NOVA).

One of the realtors we met yesterday asked us thus the proverbial question, “Why are you moving here?”  My answer, “To start a new church.”  You can see the wheels spinning in people’s heads and can almost hear the questions popping up – “Why do we need more churches here?  Aren’t there plenty of churches?  Where are you putting a building?  Do you know that is the weirdest thing I have ever heard?”  Those kind of questions.

Or, as we got, a recommendation of where to move to, “Man, you should go to Burlington or Graham (all in NC).  Those people are really religious.”

Anyway, during this particular conversation, the guy who I could tell thought we were strange also told us, “You know, not a lot of people go to church here.”  It was another one of those moments where Kara and I both said later on, “We know we are going to the right place to plant a church.”

Thanks for the affirmation on our move Mike, and thanks for the continued leading God.

One Response to “yesterday”

  1. Stan said

    Good stuff man. That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
