chadsimpkins

everyday is gameday…

  • twitter posts

    • Every time a video ad plays before I can watch a video or look at an article online, an angel loses its wings. 3 weeks ago
    • Watched the 30 For 30 special last night about Year of the Scab. I know the Skins won it all in 91 too, but could... fb.me/1fJmaNHB3 1 month ago
    • We finished our Summer Lunch Bunch program today. Here are the results from the summer... Also, I can't thank... fb.me/Fll8zUT4 1 month ago
    • I am looking for about 10-12 people who can help do a couple of things for our summer lunch program this weekend.... fb.me/aCFluPEuH 3 months ago
    • Today, we got approval at two of our 3 lunch sites to put in picnic tables (there are none there for kids to sit... fb.me/TfU0haon 3 months ago
  • My Musings…

  • Follow Me...

    • facebook
    • twitter
  • Stuff I Like...

    • Chipotle
    • Dunkin Donuts
    • Wake Forest Sports

today

Posted by slykwyk on October 15, 2009

What do you have planned to do today? Eat some food, go to a meeting, drive to work, watch some tv, take care of the kiddos, workout, eat some more food, sleep?

What if, in the midst of all that we normally do, we began to ask ourselves each day – how can I make a difference in the world today?

I am sitting here drinking some coffee, doing some planning, catching up on emails, reading, writing, contemplating, daydreaming and that thought came into my head – how am I making a difference today?  What phone call do I need to make, what note do I need to send, what email needs to be written, who do I need to have coffee with, what prayer do I need to make?

I don’t know about you, but I want to look back at my life when I am lying on some freezing cold gurney about ready to breathe my last breath and say to those around me (if anyone is there), I made a difference in the world.

But that has to start today.  And it is a question we need to ask ourselves each day when we wake up.  We don’t know when that gurney may come rolling by…

Leave a Reply

 
